S. David Freeman is a senior advisor with Friends of the Earth’s nuclear campaign. He has more than four decades of experience directing federal, regional and local energy policies. He was appointed chairman of the Tennessee Valley Authority by Jimmy Carter in 1977, where he stopped the construction of eight large nuclear power plants and pioneered a massive energy conservation program. Subsequently, David served for two decades as general manager of several large public power agencies including the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, the New York Power Authority and the Sacramento Municipal Utility District. David is a renowned expert on clean energy, efficiency and the risks of nuclear power. He holds a B.S. in Civil Engineering from Georgia Tech, and an L.L.B. from the University of Tennessee. He wrote Energy: The New Era in 1974, and Winning Our Energy Independence: An Energy Insider Shows How in 2007.

Roger W. Sant is co-founder and chairman emeritus of The AES Corporation. Prior to starting AES in 1981, Mr. Sant was assistant administrator for Energy Conservation and the Environment at the Federal Energy Administration. He was also the director of the Energy Productivity Center, an energy research organization affiliated with the Mellon Institute at Carnegie-Mellon University. Mr. Sant is chairman of The Summit Foundation. From 1994-2000 he was chair of the World Wildlife Fund-U.S., which he later co-chaired from 2009 to 2011. He is a regent emeritus of the Smithsonian Institution, having served as its first chairman. He is vice-chairman of the National Museum of Natural History and is a member of the boards of the National Symphony Orchestra and the D.C. College Access Program. He was a member of the board of directors of Marriott International from 1994 to 2006. Mr. Sant received a BS from Brigham Young University and an MBA with distinction from Harvard Business School. He is coauthor of Creating Abundance: America’s Least-Cost Energy Strategy (1982).

Tom Buttgenbach is president and co-founder of 8minutenergy. He brings over 20 years of executive management experience in large-scale project development, solar and utility power markets, land entitlement, M&A, capital structuring and finance. Tom has led transactions totaling over $5 billion in power purchase agreements and project finance deals.

Prior to co-founding 8minutenergy, Tom was a successful entrepreneur, real estate developer, and project manager for McKinsey & Company in Europe and the U.S. He earned his Ph.D. in physics and astronomy from the California Institute of Technology (CalTech).

Mike Garland is President & CEO of Pattern Energy Group, Inc (Pattern Energy), and also serves as the CEO of Pattern Energy Group LP (Pattern Development), a position he has held since June 2009. Prior to joining Pattern Development, Mr. Garland was a partner at Babcock & Brown from 1986 to 2009, where he initiated and managed project finance activities, energy development and energy investment, and led Babcock & Brown’s North American Infrastructure Group. Previously, Mr. Garland worked for the State of California as Chief of Energy Assessments from 1975 to 1986.

Peter Fox-Penner is a Professor of Practice in the Questrom School of Business and the Director of Boston University’s Institute for Sustainable Energy. His research and writing interests are in the areas of electric power strategy, regulation, and governance; energy and climate policy; and the relationships between public and private economic activity, including corporate social responsibility. He is the author of Smart Power, a book widely credited with foreseeing the future transformation of the power industry now used and cited all over the world, as well as other books in this area. He teaches courses on sustainable energy and electric power in the Questrom School of Business.

Peter also holds a part-time appointment as Chief Strategy Officer for Energy Impact Partners, a private equity firm, and is an academic advisor to the Brattle Group, an economic and financial consulting firm where he was previously a principal, Director, and Chairman for 14 years. He is on the advisory board of EOS Energy Storage.